404 9-Ball Tour

Jeff Robson Returns

The 2nd installment of the Shooters Amateur 9 Ball Event was held this past weekend (October 25 & 26) at Shooters Snooker and Sports Club in North York. This amateur tournament will be held approximately every 4 weeks. The initial success of this tournament has spread quickly as there were many new players in this 2nd event. Like the first event a full 64 player field (with a waiting list) was ready when play began. A very active player Calcutta preceded the tournament play as there were no clear favourites to win the tournament.
The number of new players is very satisfying to the tournament organizer and room owner of Shooters. The new players were made up of both veterans who have not played in the usual GTA events in recent years and novices who have never played in these kinds of competitive events in the past. There were also the familiar names in the field — some of whom typically made it to the latter stages of the tournament on Sunday. Fully 1/3 of the players were new to the tournament and did not play in the first event.
After play concluded on Saturday, Jeff Robson, Shawn Miller, Marius Nakas and Jaypee Castillo were undefeated on the ‘A’ side of the draw. On the one loss side Jeremy Isard, Ben Chang, Carlin Sanderson, Rafiq Kassam, Peter Hetherington, Bobby Drowns, Isaac Ramos and Kevin Oliveira were the survivors who returned for Sunday play.
In the ‘A’ side final Robson defeated Miller sending Miller to the ‘B’ Side and Robson to the hot seat. On the ‘B’ side, Miller gained a 2nd chance to challenge Robson by topping Jeremy Isard. In the tournament final Jeff Robson emerged the victor again in a hard fought battle against Shawn Miller.
Congratulations to the talented Jeff Robson on his tournament win. Jeff was the 2012 Canadian Amateur Champion and has recently returned to competitive play.

Winner - Jeff Robson
Winner Photo – Jeff Robson

Many thanks again to those who participated and apologies to those who were unable to play due to the high demand for entry into this event.
The next Shooters Amateur 9 Ball Event will be held November 22 & 23rd.

Finish Player Prize Money Calcutta
1st Jeff Robson $750 $700
2nd Shawn Miller $450 $475
3rd Jeremy Isard $300 $350
4th Ben Chang $220 $235
5-6th Marius Nakas $160 $155
5-6th Jaypee Castillo $160 $155
7th -8th Carlin Sanderson $110 $105
7th-8th Rafiq Kassam $110 $105
9th -12th Peter Hetherington $70
9th -12th Bobby Drowns $70
9th -12th Isaac Ramos $70
9th -12th Kevin Oliveira $70
13th- 16th Norberto Decarlos $40
13th- 16th Shane Gummerson $40
13th- 16th Jeremy Bolahood $40
13th- 16th Russ Cormier $40

Related Articles

Back to top button