Diaz, Ouschan and Tahti grab the last titles in this year’s EC

The 9-ball titles at the Dynamic Billard European Championships for Men, Women and Wheelchair Athletes have been taken by Francisco Diaz (ESP) in the men’s division, Jasmin Ouschan (AUT) in the women’s division and Jouni Tahti (FIN) in the wheelchair division.
In the men’s division, Francisco Diaz had to battle it out with Karol Skowerski (POL). The match was quite even from the start. Both players have played an excellent tournament so far. Consequently, the quality level was pretty high. During the course of the match, Diaz showed to have the balls rolling in favor of him. 9:5 was the final result in favor of Diaz. „I really enjoy this title very much“, stated Diaz after the final, „I love 9-ball and 10-ball and it was a very hard way to achieve this title.“
The women’s final was played between Jasmin Ouschan and Kamila Khodjaeva (BEL). It was already the third encounter of the two players. Ouschan had won the final in straight pool while Khodjaeva won the final in 10-ball. The match was also pretty close but Ouschan managed to get a shot at the title when she was leading 6:5. However, she missed an easy 8-ball which was „a head thing“ as she mentioned after the match. This brought Khodjaeva back to the table and she tied the match at 6:6. The last rack, Ouschan had the break shot. When broke and ran the table, winning the title and also defending it from last year as well.
In the wheelchair division, Jouni Tahti had to face Tony Southern (GBR). That match started out very slowly. After over an hour, the score was only 3:3. The tournament direction decided to have a shot clock on the match. That was obviously in Tahti’s favor. he seemed to get along with the shot clock much better and won the final and the title with 7:4.
The medalists in 9-ball were:

  1. Francisco Diaz (ESP)
  2. Karol Skowerski (POL)
  3. Marc Bijsterbosch (NED)
    Andreas Gerne (SWE)


  1. Jasmin Ouschan (AUT)
  2. Kamila Khodjaeva (BEL)
  3. Diana Khodjaeva (BEL)
    Line Kjoersvik (NOR)


  1. Jouni Tahti (FIN)
  2. Tony Southern (GBR)
  3. Kurt Deklerck (BEL)
    Fred DInsmore (IRL)

The final medal table of the event

Rank Nation Gold Silver Bronze Total
1. The Netherlands 2 2 2 6
2. Austria 2 1 2 5
3. Finland 2 2 4
4. Belgium 1 3 6 10
5. Poland 1 2 2 5
6. Spain 1 1 1 3
7. Ireland 1 2 3
Sweden 1 2 3
9. Greece 1 1
Russia 1 1
11. Great Britain 2 2 4
12. Norway 2 1 3
13. Belarus 1 1
Germany 1 1
Italy 1 1
Switzerland 1 1

That concludes the coverage of the 2015 Dynamic Billard European Championships for Men, Women and Wheelchair Athletes. Tomorrow, the Euro-Tour will begin at 09:00 local time with the first round matches. Over 215 players have enlisted so far.
All matches can be viewed LIVE at 24 tables in HiRes quality are providing you with all the action of the event. You do not miss out one single match! Join today!
More information about participants, schedules, achievements, rankings, etc can be found on the event website

The event will be hosted by the European Pocket Billiard Federation EPBF and organized by International Billiard Promotion Foundation

Related Articles

Back to top button