Womens Pool

WPBA Masters Round One Results

First Day’s Play Complete: 16 Undefeated Players Remain!
MT. PLEASANT, MI – The Women’s Professional Billiard Association’s (WPBA) WPBA Masters kicked off with 11 am matches. The day session featured 32 unseeded players matching up to determine who would first face the top 16 seeds.
In the evening session, the top 16 played their first round. Upsets included Joanne Ashton over Cathy Metzinger; Dawn Hopkins over Gerda Hofstatter; Eleanor Callado over Line Kjorsvik; and Liz Ford over #5 ranked Monica Webb!
To view the chart and ongoing results, visit www.wpba.com and click on “2012 Soaring Eagle Tournament Board.” One-loss side matches begin at 11:00 a.m. Friday. The sixteen undefeated players compete at 3 and 6 p.m.
Round One (Unseeded) Results:
Jacqui Herrera d. Emily Duddy 9-5
Dawn Hopkins d. Emilyn Callado 9-2
Jessica Barnes d. Val Finnie 9-6
Joanne Ashton d. Susan Williams 9-7
Liz Cole d. Cheryl Pritchard 9-2
Belinda Calhoun d. Teresa Gifford 9-4
Liz Ford d. Teruko Cucculelli 9-3
Erica Park d. Janet Atwell 9-4
Laura Smith d. Barbara Lee 9-8
Morgan Steinman d. Lonnie Fox 9-5
Jana Montour d. Jennifer Chen 9-8
Eleanor Callado d. Tina Hess 9-3
Naomi Williams d. Rebecca Wagner 9-1
Maureen Seto d. Vicki Paski 9-8
Melissa Little d. Angel Paglia 9-6
Kyoko Sone d. Erin McManus 9-4
Round One (Seeded Round):
Ga Young Kim d. Jacqui Herrera 9-5
Dawn Hopkins d. Gerda Hofstatter 9-7
Ewa Laurance d. Jessica Barnes 9-5
Joanne Ashton d. Cathy Metzinger 9-6
Karen Corr d. Liz Cole 9-8
Brittany Bryant d. Belinda Calhoun 9-1
Liz Ford d. Monica Webb 9-6
Helena Thornfeldt d. Erica Park 9-3
Jasmin Ouschan d. Laura Smith 9-6
Nicole Keeney d. Morgan Steinman 9-2
Kelly Fisher d. Jana Montour 9-1
Eleanor Callado df. Line Kjorsvik 9-6
Allison Fisher d. Naomi Williams 9-3
Jennifer Barretta d. Maureen Seto 9-6
Jeanette Lee d. Melissa Little 9-7
Tamara Peeters d. Kyoko Sone 9-4

Maureen Seto
The tournament will conclude on Sunday, January 29 beginning at 1 p.m., when the final four players remaining will compete for the title of 2012 WPBA Masters Champion. Tickets are available via startickets.com. The three final-round one-hour matches will be taped by ESPN for broadcast on Sunday, March 18, from 1:30 – 4:30 pm EST.
Alongside the WPBA Masters is the Soaring Eagle Open III, featuring amateur singles 8-Ball and 9-Ball tournaments in men and women’s divisions, with $10,000 in added prize money. This event also begins Thursday, January 26 and continues through Sunday, January 29, 2012. Visit www.soaringeaglecasino.com for more information.
About the Women’s Professional Billiard Association (WPBA)
The WPBA was established in 1976 as the Women’s Professional Billiard Alliance, and will celebrate its 35th anniversary in 2011 as the oldest pro player organization in the sport. The WPBA sanctions and produces the Women’s Pro Billiard Tour, which features ESPN-televised events with the world’s greatest women players. Visit www.wpba.com for more. The WPBA Classic Tour is sponsored by the American Poolplayers Association, Diamond Billiards, Iwan Simonis, Cuetec Cues, Delta 13, Pooldawg, Mueller Recreational Products and Aramith.
About the Soaring Eagle Casino & Resort
The Soaring Eagle Casino & Resort is the Midwest’s premier AAA Four Diamond gaming and hospitality destination offering top-name entertainment year-round, award-winning dining, high stakes bingo and a full-service spa. For more information, visit www.soaringeaglecasino.com

Womens Pro Billiard Tour

The WPBA was established in 1976 under the name of the Women’s Professional Billiard Alliance and is celebrating its 38th anniversary in 2014 as the oldest pro player organization in the sport. The WPBA sanctions and produces the Women’s Pro Billiard Tour, which features the greatest women players from around the world. For more information about the WPBA, its top players, and sponsors, visit www.wpba.com.

Related Articles

Back to top button